AOCS Incorporates New Topics in GLC Short Course

Several changes have been announced in the coming AOCS GLC Short Course, to be presented at Rice University in Houston, Texas, July 31-Aug. 4. Some of the topics reported in the January issue of the Journal have now been incorporated in other presentations; several new topics, as yet unassigned to speakers, have been added for balance. The topics presently scheduled for the course are as follows:

1) Gas Chromatography of Fatty Amines, Nitriles and Amides

2) Antioxidants

3) Characterization of Margarine and Shortening Formulation by Gas Chromatography of Their Fatty Acids

4) Gas Chromatographic Analysis of Epoxy Fatty

Acids and Epoxidized Fats

5) Analysis of Polymers in Fats and Oils

The remaining topics to which speakers are assigned are as follows:

- 1) Potentiometric Recorders—Charles D. Newman, Texas Instruments, Inc.
- Trouble-Shooting—George Chittwood, 2) Instrument Barber-Colman Co.
- 3) Automatic Integration-Jack Gill, Varian-Aerograph
- 4) Automatic Sample Injection—Lars Appelquist, Swedish Seed Association
- 5) The Use of Computers in Totally Automated Gas Chromatography—Robert Kleiman, USDA
- 6) Relationship of Solute Structure to Retention Behavior-W. J. A. VandenHeuvel, Merck and Company

7) Column Technology—Robert Schwartz 8) Ionization Detectors—Hal Hartmann, Varian-Aerograph Co.

9) Liquid Phases-Walter Supina, Supelco, Inc.

10) Analysis of Carbohydrates and Related Compounds in the Characterization of Glycolipids—C. C. Sweeley, University of Pittsburgh

11) Analysis of Steroids and Sterols-W. G. Creech,

Methodist Hospital

12) Triglyceride Analysis—Carter Litchfield, Texas A & M University

13) Quantitative Gas Chromatography in the Structural Characterization of Glyceryl Phosphatides—Arnis Kuksis, University of Toronto

14) Analysis of Bile Acids—Arnis Kuksis

- Chromatography of Hydrocarbons-Robert 15) Gas Schwartz
- 16) Tentative Identification of the Components of Complex Fatty Acid Mixtures Based on Retention Data—R. G. Ackman, Fisheries Research Board of Canada

17) Gas Chromatographic Analysis of Fatty Alcohols, Aldehydes and Branched Chain Fatty Acids-Nicholas

Pelick, Supelco, Inc.

18) Mass Spectrometry Coupled to Gas Chromatography, James McClosky, Baylor University College of Medicine 19) Preparative Gas Chromatography—J. A. Schmit, Hewlett-Packard Co.

20) Temperature Programming-J. A. Schmit

- 21) Gas-Liquid Chromatographic Analysis of Hydroxy Fatty Acids and Partial Glycerides-Randall Wood, Oak Ridge Institute for Nuclear Studies
- 22) Quantitative Gas-Liquid Chromatography of the Twenty Natural Protein Amino Acids-D. W. Stallings, University of Missouri

THE POPE TESTING LABORATORIES **Analytical Chemists**

26181/2 Main

P.O. Box 903

Dallas, Tex.

- 23) Determination of the Structure of Lipids by Hydrogenation, Ozonolysis and Hydrogenolysis-Morton Beroza, ŪSDA
- 24) Gas Chromatography of Fat-Soluble Vitamins—P. P. Nair, Sinai Hospital of Baltimore

The tremendous interest that Orville Privett's movies always generate prompted Chairman Gerald Feldman and the Committee to include a special lecture by one of this country's foremost authorities on the making of scientific films, Donald Macon. Mr. Macon feels that this capability can be easily exploited by any scientist regardless of the level of his experience. He would like to convey this contention in his lecture, "The Use of Motion Pictures to Document Research and Analytical Procedures." You will be amazed at what can be done with inexpensive equipment and a little imagination!

The Committee plans to include a photograph of each speaker along with a brief biographical sketch as part of the printed program. In addition, the program will be made up into a notebook with an outline of the speakers talk on the left page and a blank sheet(s) facing it for notes. This will give the student a very handy manual of GLC and will also credit each speaker with a publication. This should be a welcome item for those at the "Publish

or Perish" institutions!

Lundberg To Receive Bailey Award

Sixth Medalist Since 1959

The Alton E. Bailey Award Committee of the North Central Section, AOCS, announced at the January 18th meeting that the 1967 recipient of the Award will be W. O. Lundberg, Director, Hormel Institute, Austin, Minnesota. Dr. Lundberg will accept the medal and address the North Central Section at the March 15th dinner meeting.

Dr. Lundberg has made significant contributions to our understanding of the mechanism of oxidation of fats and the mechanism of action of antioxidants, as a result of which he is universally acknowledged as both a pioneer and leader in the field. He has served the American Oil Chemists' Society actively for the past two decades in a number of responsible positions, including the presidency and, currently, governing board membership.

The Bailey Award was established by the North Central Section of the AOCS to recognize outstanding research and/or service in the fields of oils, waxes and allied or associated products. The medal commemorates Alton E. Bailey's outstanding contribution to the field of fats and oils as a researcher in many areas of the field, as author of several standard books in the field and as a leader in the work of the Society.

Since 1959 there have been six medalists: V. C. Mehlenbacher, R. H. Potts, J. C. Cowan, A. R. Baldwin, T. P.

Hilditch and Daniel Swern.

Sponsoring Industries Named

Several firms have given evidence of their interest in the oil fats, waxes and allied or associated products industry by generously providing the financial sponsorship which makes the Award possible. The following companies are participating in the 1967 program: Anderson Clayton & Company; Archer Daniels Midland Company; Cargill, Inc.; Central Soya Company; Corn Products Company; The DeLaval Separator Company; Distillation Products Industries; Durkee Famous Foods; General Mills, Inc.; S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc.; Oscar Mayer & Company; Mead Johnson Research Center; National Dairy Products Corporation; E. H. Sargent & Company.

The award night meeting will be held at the Illinois Institute of Technology, 10 W. 35th St., Chicago, Ill. A social period will begin at 6:00 PM, the dinner is scheduled for 6:30 PM and the presentation at 7:45 PM. Dinner reservations should be sent to the National Head-

quarters, 35 E. Wacker Drive, Chicago, Illinois.